A Grain of Wheat

Author(s): Ngugi Wa Thiong'o; Abdulrazak Gurnah (Introduction by)

Barack Obama's Favourite Books

It is 1963 and Kenya is on the verge of Uhuru - independence day.

The mighty British government has been toppled, and in the lull between the fighting and the new world, colonised and coloniser alike reflect on what they have gained and lost. In the village of Thabai, the men and women who live there have been transformed irrevocably by the uprising. Kihika, legendary rebel leader, was fatally betrayed to the whiteman. Gikonyo's marriage to beautiful Mumbi was destroyed when he was imprisoned, while her life has been shattered in other ways. And Mugo, brave survivor of the camps and now the village hero, harbours a terrible secret.

As we learn of their tangled histories, a masterly story of myth, rebellion, love, friendship and betrayal unfolds, confirming Ngugi's status as a giant of African writing.


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Kenyan novelist and playwright Ngugi wa Thiong'o is the author of WEEP NOT CHILD (1964), THE RIVER BETWEEN (1965), and PETALS OF BLOOD (1977). Ngugi was chair of the Department of Literature at the University of Nairobi from 1972 to 1977. He left Kenya in 1982 and taught at various universities in the United States before he became professor of comparative literature and performance studies at New York University in 1992.

General Fields

  • : 9780141186993
  • : Penguin Books, Limited
  • : Penguin Books, Limited
  • : 0.2
  • : February 2002
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 16mm
  • : April 2005
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 272
  • : Paperback
  • : Ngugi Wa Thiong'o; Abdulrazak Gurnah (Introduction by)